Misdemeanors are not as serious as felonies although they too can have serious consequences. Being arrested for a misdemeanor means handcuffs, mug shots, fingerprinting and the posting of a bond. A misdemeanor can mean a permanent criminal record that may harm both educational and job prospects.

In Florida, misdemeanors come in two classes. These are defined as First Degree Misdemeanors and Second Degree Misdemeanors.


Examples of Florida First Degree Misdemeanors

(Punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000.00 fine)

  • Simple Battery
  • Bad Checks under $150
  • Boating under the influence
  • Criminal Mischief (damage greater than $200 but less than $1,000)
  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Domestic Violence / Spousal Abuse
  • Driving with a Suspended License with Knowledge
  • DUI / Drunk Driving
  • Driving with License Suspended (2nd offense)
  • Indecent Exposure
  • Lewdness
  • Loitering & Prowling
  • Marijuana Possession (under twenty grams)
  • Petit (petty) theft (2nd offense)
  • Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
  • Reckless Driving
  • Resisting an Officer without Violence
  • Shoplifting (under $300)
  • Solicitation for Prostitution
  • Ticket Scalping
  • Trespass
  • Vandalism
  • Prostitution

 


Examples of Florida Second Degree Misdemeanors

(Punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine)

  • Simple Assault
  • Criminal Mischief (where damage is $200 or less)
  • Petit (petty) theft (1st offense)
  • Simple Trespass
  • Driving with a Suspended License with Knowledge (1st offense)
  • Attaching Tag not Assigned
  • No Valid Driver’s License
  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Disorderly Intoxication
  • Loitering or Prowling
  • No Motorcycle Endorsement
  • Harassing Phone Calls
  • Expired Tag More Thank 6 Months (2nd offense)